theboxexperiment

Attempting to live a more sustainable lifestyle.

Box #2 January 27, 2011

Filed under: Box — theboxexperiment @ 9:40 am
Tags:

Box #2 arrived Tuesday. We definitely don’t have a lack of produce, unlike before we started this experiment. Honestly, it’s a little refreshing. We are taking greater control of the food we eat at home. It hasn’t been that long since I could open our fridge and see all sorts of things that were a) overpriced, b) over-processed, and c) not particularly healthy for you. Now I open the fridge and see homemade humus, homemade bread, fruits and veggies (that I’m certain came from a good place). I am thinking about other culinary projects I want to undertake: making my own jams or jellies, canning homemade pasta sauce, making homemade pasta: all things that help us gain better control and understanding of our food.

But I digress, back to box #2. In the box, we found

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 carton of grape tomatoes
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 navel oranges
  • 3 mangos
  • 3 fuji apples
  • 1 bunch of bananas
  • 2 green bells
  • a bunch of baby bellas

This is all wonderful but there is one issue. For 2 people we have a ton of bananas and oranges. For Christmas my grandparents (S&J W) bought us 14 lbs of tangelos, JEM’s aunt H then sent us 6 more oranges….we still haven’t finished them all and the amount keeps growing. I’m at a minor loss about what to do with all the oranges. Bananas are easy, I’ll make more banana bread. The apples are easy too, I can make either an apple pie or an apple bread. But oranges are going to prove tricky.

What will get interesting is cooking the zucchini and sweet potatoes, these are vegetables that I’ve never cooked. I’m not sure if either of us actually like zucchini and sweet potatoes. I guess we’ll be finding out!

Recipes to look out for:

Orange Chicken Salad–boring, but I gotta do something w/ all the oranges

Butternut Squash Soup

Zucchini Coins

Apple Bread

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

 

One Response to “Box #2”

  1. […] So after all this positive posting, I must say I am excited for our first delivery next Wednesday. I will be sure to post my review of our box. For now, check out my friend’s blog about her Green Grocer experience, The Box Experiment […]


Leave a Reply

